Stacks Image 75


Sync for iTunes

With Sync for iTunes you can easily keep all your iTunes media synchronized across multiple devices, external disks, network drives, etc.

Sync for iTunes is very easy to set up, simply drag the folder in which you want to create a copy of your library and your done.
You can create exact copies of your libraries if you want to access it from another Mac.
Or, you can choose what type of media to synchronize (Music, Videos, TV Shows, Podcasts, iTunes U, etc), and even decide how to organize it using tags to specify the file structure.

You can have up to 14 different configurations, all ready to start synchronizing at the press of a button.
Then after acquiring a new song or tv show for example, simply run Sync for iTunes, press the big START button and in seconds your new files are where ever you need it to be.

Auto Start

All slots with the Auto Start option enabled will be synchronized automatically as soon as Sync for iTunes starts.
Slots will synchronize one at a time, queued by their respective number.

Write Log

When Write Log is enabled, Sync for iTunes will create a text file containing detailed information about all operations performed during synchronization.
When synchronization is complete, clicking the colored checkmark will display the corresponding log file.
You can also open the logs folder by clicking below on "Click here to open the Log's folder".
Feel free to delete old files if you no longer need them.

Organize files

When the option Organize files is enabled, you can choose what type of media to synchronize.
Clicking on "Show more Options" will display options for Music, Movies, TV Shows, Music Videos, Home Videos, Podcasts, iTunes U, Audiobooks, Tones, Books and Playlists synchronizations.

If you want to have an exact copy of a working iTunes library, you should disable this option.

Delete on Destination

This option should be disabled for a faster synchronization.
Only enable it if you made changes on the files on your destination folder, to delete old files, or to verify everything.

Queueing Slots

When performing a synchronization, simply select any other slot and enable the option to Sync after slot.
With a simple check box you can decide the order in which to synchronize your slots, and they will all be synchronized one after another.
However, if you click the START button it is possible to have several slots synchronizing at the same time.


Sync for iTunes is fully scriptable so you can perform any action using Apple Script.
For example to schedule the synchronization of a slot you can create a Calendar Alarm using the Automator.
Setting it to run the Apple Script:

tell application "Sync for iTunes"
resume slot 1
queue slot 2
queue slot 3
end tell

will create a Calendar event that will synchronize your slot 1 and then slot 2 and 3.
Click here for a detailed example.


There are several ways to automate your synchronizations.

You can queue several slots to be synchronized one after the other. To do this, click the "START" button on one slot to initiate the synchronization, then to add another slot to the queue simply check the option "Sync after slot".


If you need to synchronize several slots regularly, the easiest way is to enable the option "Auto Start" on the slots you wish to synchronize. Then to start synchronizing, simply run Sync for iTunes, and all the selected slots will sync one after the other.

You can setup scheduled synchronizations using the Automator or Scripting. To learn more about scheduled synchronizations please click here.

Slot colors

The slot's buttons will change colors according to it's state.
Gray - Slot isn't configured.
White - Slot has a Destination and Source.
Yellow - Slot is currently being synchronized.
Green - Slot was successfully synchronized.
Red - There were errors during synchronization.
Magenta - The synchronization was canceled by the user.


Should I always use the option "Delete on Destination"?

No. Only enable this option if you made changes on the files on your destination folder, or to delete old files, and verify everything.

Where are the log files?

Log files are only created if you have the "Write Log" option checked or if there was an error during synchronization. The files are located at "~/Library/Containers/com.oktoid.syncforitunes/Data/Library/Sync for iTunes/Logs".
You can click the link at the bottom of Sync for iTunes to open this folder in Finder.

Is it safe to cancel an ongoing synchronization?

Yes. You can cancel at any time. The operation will only terminate after the current file.
You have the option to continue from where you canceled the next time you synchronize.
Quitting the application will immediately stop all processes. This may cause files to be incomplete on the destination folder. All files will be completed on the next synchronization.

Will the window's close button cancel the synchronization?

No. It is always safe to close the window. The application will only quit if there are no ongoing synchronizations.